Minnesota State Girls' Hockey Tournament Records that were established or tied in 2020

Records Established:

Fewest shots on goal by both teams in period:

Breck and Luverne combined for no shots on goal in the second period of their game. The record had been five by Austin (5) vs. Breck (0) in the third period in 2008.

Fewest saves by both teams in period:

Breck and Luverne combined for 0 saves in the second period of their game. The record had been four by Henry Sibley (3) vs. South St. Paul (1) in the second period in 1995.

Earliest penalty by team to start game:

South St. Paul recorded the earliest penalty to ever start a game when they were whistled for interference just nine seconds into their game with Rochester Lourdes. The record was 12 seconds by Benilde-St. Margaret's (vs. North Metro Stars) in 2007.

Most shots on goal by losing team in regulation game:

South St. Paul had 46 shots on goal in their loss to Hutchinson, breaking the record of 43 that had been held by Hill-Murray (against Maple Grove) in 2016.

Most assists scored by individual in tournament:

Breck's Emily Zumwinkle was credited with eight assists in the tournament, breaking the record of seven that was shared with five players. The most recent of those was by Sylvie Wallin of Blake in 2016.

Records Tied:

Most power play goals by team in period:

Warroad had three power play goals in the second period of their game against Willmar. This tied the record held by three other teams (most recently by Blake in 2015).

Most assists scored by player in period:

Emily Zumwinkle from Breck had four assists against Luverne in the first period. This tied the record held by Ronda Curtin of Roseville Area (vs. Blaine/Coon Rapids, 2nd per.) 1996. **Most assists scored by player in game:**

Hutchinson's Alex Hantge was credited with five assists in her game against Willmar. She shares the record with eight others, most recently last year by Jade Zierden of Fergus Falls. Fewest shots on goal by team in period:

Breck took no shots on goal in either the second or third period against Luverne. Luverne also did not have a shot in the second period. This tied the record held by 12 other teams (most recently by Minnetonka last year).

Fewest saves by goalie in period:

Three goalies logged no saves in a period during the Breck vs. Luverne game. Cheyenne Schutz of Luverne (2nd per.), Mallory Von Tersch of Luverne (3rd per.), and Sarah Peterson from Breck (2nd per.). This had previously been achieved by 17 other goalies. The most recent was Edina's Elli Strittmater last year against Minnetonka in the second period.

Most power play goals by team in tournament:

Warroad had six power play goals during the tournament, equaling the record held by three other teams (most recently by Breck in 2012).

Most overtime wins by team in tournament history:

When Andover defeated Minnetonka in overtime of their championship semifinal game, they won their fourth overtime game ever, tying the record held by Hibbing/Chisholm.

Jottings:

Minnetonka coach Tracy Cassano is only the second coach to have mentored three different schools (Rosemount, Burnsville and Minnetonka) to the girls' state tournament. The other coach was Jack Gravel (Benilde-St. Margaret's, North Metro Stars and Mound Westonka).

Breck's 23 goals scored in the tournament this year were one shy of the record of 24 held by Warroad in 2010.

South St. Paul added one victory to their record all-time tournament win total of 27. Coach Dave Palmquist of those same Packers recorded his 27th win in 15 tournaments (both records). Warroad's David Marvin did nudge closer to Dave when he won two games to add to his career total of 22. They are number one and two on the all-time wins list.

Edina ended it's 11 game tournament winning streak when they lost to Andover in the championship game. Minnetonka also had an 11 game winning streak from 2011-2015, which is tied for the longest of Class AA schools. Breck extended their winning streak to 13 games, dating back to 2011. The all-time record for Class A schools is 16 straight wins, held by Blake from 2007-2015.